Testimonials


All testimonials refer to our patients’ personal experiences and, where references are made to medical conditions and treatment, results will vary from person to person.

Thank you and your team who got my back better with the IDD treatment

Hi Steve. I know I have said this before however I will say it again. Thank you and your team who got my back better with the IDD treatment it is almost a year now and it is still pain free no problems at all. Thank you keep up the great work you and the team do.

Stewart McQueen, IDD Therapy patient, review left on our Facebook page May 2017

I have recommended you to all my friends and cannot thank you enough!

What an amazing man, he gave me hope when I saw none – I was in agony with a severe disc prolapse and not only did he help me physically but also mentally to get through it. Steve had offered me an alternative to the operative way and with his help I have managed to regain almost full movement. I cycle, run and swim again! Steve’s holistic way of treating people makes all the difference. I still have to get through your book recommendation “why zebras don’t get ulcers”! I have recommended you to all my friends and cannot thank you enough!

Julia Horbaschk, Osteopathy and IDD Therapy patient. Review left on our Facebook page May 2017

He was spot on

I’ve been treated by Steve Morris (and more recently, by Margaret) since 1999 when I was referred to Steve by a chiropractor who humbly admitted he was not able to help me. During my first consultation Steve observed my back from behind and quickly commented that I had had a trauma to my pelvis. At that stage he had not yet touched my back. He was spot on – a bad fall off my horse at speed when I was 15. I am now 70 and my back is more supple now than it was when I started consulting Steve. More importantly, I do not have chronic thoracic back pain now. I attend Sussex Back Pain Clinic regularly for maintenance and, although I have lived 25 miles from Hove since 2000, I have stuck with Sussex Back Pain Clinic for obvious reasons.

Penny Langley, Osteopathy patient. Review left on our Facebook page May 2017

What a joy to be pain-free!!

I have suffered with lower back pain for over thirty years and, like many others, assumed it was part and parcel of life and that nothing could be done to cure it.

When I saw an advert for the Sussex Back Pain Clinic it seemed to offer a glimmer of hope so I made an appointment. After an initial consultation with Steve I was referred to Margaret. The exercises and advice about improving my posture an lifestyle seemed too good to be true. After a couple of months of religiously following the advice and doing the exercises, to my amazement, the pain went! How I wish I had done this years ago. Steve and Margaret have been wonderful. They both actively listen and are eager to share their knowledge. What a joy to be pain-free!!

Brenda Lander, May 2017, Osteopathy patient

A very professional and successful experience

A very professional and successful experience. Every member of staff has been very knowledgeable and helpful in leading me towards my recovery. IDD has been a very successful alternative to surgery and I have already recommended the Sussex Back Pain Clinic to friends and family without hesitation.

Lauren Woods, May 2017, IDD Therapy patient

I only wish I’d been able to have this treatment years ago

I have been suffering with debilitating back and leg pain for several years, and most problematic for the pas four years since having two prolapsed discs. I tried pretty much everything and then one of the practitioners suggested an assessment for IDD Therapy. To say it is giving me my life back does not feel enough to say. I am amazed at the reduction in pain – I only wish I’d been able to have this treatment years ago.

Karen Krasnuik, May 2017, IDD Therapy patient

They are a life saver!

I have been going to the Sussex Back Pain Clinic over a number of years and the practitioners I’ve seen have all been excellent dealing with my chronic pain and never give up! I couldn’t recommend them more highly and have done so on many occasions. They are a life saver!

Marilyn Merchant, May 2017, Osteopathy and Exercise Rehab patient

I am now able to carry on with life out of a wheelchair

I was one of the clinic’s earliest patients. Steve treated me initially for a period of years after I had a car crash. Nothing was too much trouble. I then had three further needs for his talents and am now able to carry on with life out of a wheelchair, which could have been a reality.

I’ve recommended the clinic, and Steve, to a number of friends as I know they’ll receive an honest appraisal of their problems and first class treatment after that which they did.

Teresa Wyatt, May 2017, Osteopathy patient

Would not go anywhere else!

I have seen both Christina and Margaret for my back and hip problems. Both have been absolutely fantastic and help to keep me moving.
Would not go anywhere else !

Debbie South, Osteopathy patient, review left on our Facebook page May 2017

When my back plays up Margaret works her magic

When my back plays up Margaret works her magic and gets me mobile again within a couple of treatments. She also gives me maintenance exercises to help keep me mobile. I thoroughly recommend Margaret and the Sussex Back Pain Clinic.

Jacki Clarke, May 2017, Osteopathy patient

Thank you both

Laurie has greatly helped me with my muscular problems and was recommended to me by Steve whom I have known for about 6 years. Thank you both.

Margaret Martin, May 2017, Osteopathy and massage patient

Margaret is a great osteopath

I have recommended SBPC to friends and colleagues as my treatments here have helped resolve a niggling injury and also the day to day issues which violinists/musicians encounter. Results from first session. Margaret is a great osteopath and I believe she can help me keep playing without pain and tension for the years to come.

Annie Kerr, May 2017, Osteopathy patient

Thank you!

My Partner saw Richard today for the first time after serious lower back pain. He made us feel very comfortable and he really knew his stuff! After just 1 session, my partner is feeling a lot more comfortable and we have now booked to go together next time!

Thank you!

Amy Louise Taylor, partner of Osteopathy patient, review left on our Facebook page February 2017

Come here before having surgery!!

Richard Clements is a genius and sorted a very complicated foot injury. Come here before having surgery!!

Donna Taplin, Osteopathy patient, review left on our Facebook page January 2017

More than happy is not even close

I had the worst back pain ever and after going to see Steve Morris he put me on the IDD course and after 2 weeks the pain started to go. Now after 4 weeks it has gone completely. I am just finishing the course and I can not thank Steve and his team for all their help. This is one very professional clinic. More than happy is not even close.

Stewart McQueen, IDD Therapy patient, review left on our Facebook page September 2016

Margaret is incredible!

“Margaret is incredible! Both as an osteopath and as a person. I really look forward to our sessions and feel very lucky to have found such a great osteo :)”

Mike Rosenberg, Musician, May 2016, Osteopathy patient

If only I’d known about this place nearly 3 years ago

I had IDD treatment here for bulging disc in my neck. After 2 1/2 yrs of constant pain I went here. The staff are friendly and the treatment is great. I feel so much better after 9 sessions. If your suffering get yourself along there and find out if your a suitable candidate for IDD. If only I’d known about this place nearly 3 years ago.

Debbie Bolingbroke, IDD Therapy patient, review left on our Facebook page April 2015

Amazing people and very genuine

Paula Hadwell, IDD Therapy patient, review left on our Facebook page October 2013

I would highly recommend the centre to any one

“I was suffering from lower back pain which over time had became very uncomfortable. I had treatment at SBPC over ten years ago and decided it was time to return and not put it off for any longer. After my initial assessment the problem was quickly diagnosed and a treatment plan was put together.

This has lead to a dramatic improvement to my back and my health and happiness overall. My treatments are at a pace to suit me, which as a shift worker can be difficult to fit in at times, but the staff at SBPC are always helpful and accommodating to my needs. I would highly recommend the centre to any one and would advise them not to put up with pain any longer, book yourself in for an assessment!”

Simon Boyling, Osteopathy patient

My quality of life has most definitely changed for the better

“After suffering for several months with neck pain I decided to visit the Sussex Back Pain Clinic and was seen by Steve Morris.

After my consultation Steve assured me that he felt treatment could help with my neck pain and with my headaches that I have suffered with for more years than I can remember. I was not convinced about helping with the headaches as I felt that they were something that I just had to live with. I visited the clinic for weekly treatments for approx four weeks and then gradually left longer between each visit, on my last visit I booked an appointment for six months later. After my first few visits my neck was most certainly less painful, one side completely pain free, and the other side soon followed to be pain free. Although my initial reason for visiting Steve was to help with the neck pain I am absolutely delighted with the fact that I have not had any headaches for the past few months and cannot remember the last time I took any medication for them. Considering I took pain relief everyday this is a great result for me.

It may sound a bit ‘cheesy’ but I can honestly say that after my treatments at Sussex Back Pain Clinic my quality of life has most definitely changed for the better. My only regret is that I didn’t go sooner!!”

Ann Draper, Osteopathy patient

After a short series of appointments, the neck pain had gone

“A couple of years ago, I was suffering with a very painful neck and restricted head movement, due to daily train travel and sitting at a computer for most of my working day.

The service provided by Sussex Back Pain Clinic was professional, friendly and the cause of the pain quickly identified. After a short series of appointments, the neck pain had gone and a full head / neck movement restored. I now attend every few months, to maintain the improvement.”

David Selo, Osteopathy patient

I cannot commend them highly enough

“As a nurse in the NHS I had to think hard about the decision to choose private treatment for my disc prolapse. When I first saw my GP I was referred to the NHS Spinal Service but was given an appointment for 6 weeks later. I simply couldn’t wait that long – and be in so much pain – to get help so did a bit of searching online and went to the Sussex Back Pain Clinic.

I saw the osteopath and he told me about the IDD treatment available at the clinic and that he thought it could really help with my specific problem. I did my own research and decided to go ahead with it. I had a private MRI scan which confirmed a substantial L5/S1 disc prolapse. Within two weeks of commencing treatment my levels of pain had significantly reduced and my mobility had improved equally well. I continued to make excellent progress and, by the time I saw the NHS doctor, my symptoms were markedly better. I was told they would have referred me for a scan which could have taken up to 12 weeks. I showed them my own scan results and was told I would most probably had to have had at least an epidural injection (for which there was a 4 month wait). The doctor knew nothing of IDD so suggested, as I was reporting improvement, I could contact them again should I need to.

I completed the treatment programme and now have practically regained full function, including being able to sit for substantial periods, which eluded me for some considerable time. Without having IDD I would probably still be waiting for an epidural or, even worse, surgery given the extent of my prolapse. Yet I am returning to work in a few days time.

The most impressive thing about the course of treatment is its holistic approach to tackling underlying issues causing the symptoms. Alongside the actual IDD treatment there is a focused and individualised programme of exercises, tailored to your specific needs and taught and supervised by professionals. It is this, as much as the IDD, that has made a real difference to my progress and, importantly, is likely to help prevent future reoccurrence. I hope that the success of IDD could ensure that in the future it may be available on the NHS as an alternative to more expensive and invasive procedures.

On a more personal note, everyone I’ve encountered at the clinic has treated me professionally, with the utmost courtesy and respect. I have been kept fully informed throughout my progress and any questions I had were answered honestly and thoroughly. I cannot commend them highly enough.”

Phil Ulyatt, NHS Nurse, IDD Therapy patient

I would most highly recommend the osteopathic services of the Sussex Back Pain Clinic

“I am happy to say that I would most highly recommend the osteopathic services of the Sussex Back Pain Clinic. Everyone at the clinic is very friendly and helpful, and I have always appreciated the treatment and support they have provided at difficult and sometimes painful occasions.”

Dawn, Osteopathy patient

A 93% miracle!

“A 93% miracle! I was a sceptic, but on the advice of my GP I gave it a go. I had suffered from stiffness and discomfort of the lower back for a good few years, which, although not actually hampering my activities, did mean I was always conscious of that grumbling pain

I’d had hospital diagnostic tests and examinations but they’d located no substantial problems. When I had my first appointment at the Sussex Back Pain Clinic, Steve Morris the Osteopath looked carefully into my medical history and did a thorough examination: “bend down as far as you can”, “stand on your left leg”, “lean towards me”, “raise your right leg”. As a result he diagnosed what he termed a (pretty common) ‘mechanical’ lower back problem, partly as a result of several operations and partly as a result of several years of bad posture. He said that between us we could effect a cure- not a 100% cure, but something approaching that.

This was good news, though my heart sank a bit when he told me I would have to work at some exercises in between the eight or nine half hour sessions I would probably need with him. I diligently performed these, and each time I revisited the clinic Steve seemed pleased with my progress. Gradually I learned to strengthen my ‘core’ muscles, sit in a better position and adopt a better general posture. I started to feel the benefits and the discomfort lessened. On my final visit I was able to tell (a very pleased) Steve that I now felt no discomfort at all for 93% of the time.

Being able to book evening appointments added to the flexibility of fitting visits in after work. The clinic’s receptionist is very warm and welcoming, suggesting you help yourself to complimentary coffee. The whole experience, as well as being very professional, is very relaxed……but I’m not expecting to have to go back!”

A.M., aged 61, Osteopathy patient

The experience as you enter the practice is one of care and total service

“The experience as you enter the practice is one of care and total service with many years of consulting expertise and practical advice. They have pro actively managed my back pain so that I now have very rare episodes. The staff are friendly and caring.”

Glenn Ballard, Osteopathy patient

My quality of life has changed dramatically

“After many years of constant back problems, in particular neck and shoulder area, which also caused exhausting headaches and having tried many forms of treatment, my GP suggested Osteopathy. I received a fair amount of relief at the Sussex Back Pain Clinic, but nothing like I’ve had since having 10 sessions of IDD therapy. My pain, on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the highest, dropped to about 2 even 1 on some days. I found treatment painless and quite relaxing, helped by great staff. My quality of life has changed dramatically – no more headaches. I’m able to do so many more every day things around the home that I haven’t been able to do for many years, plus my life is so much more enjoyable now.”

June Williams, 64 year old retired care worker as featured in Yours magazine

I have my life back, thank you

“I suffered 2 prolapsed discs a few months ago which apart from extreme lower back pain also resulted in acute Sciatic pain in my left buttock and all down my left leg and into my ankle. I also experienced pins and needles and not much sleep. After a while I was made aware of IDD Therapy, after just a couple of treatments I was pain free, I have now completed my treatment and have gone from having to walk with a stick and being in severe pain to now being pain free, able to stand up straight and walk properly. I have my life back, thank you.”

Della Murdoch

There is no need to suffer in silence with low back pain

“Like most people, I put up with low back pain for several years, accepting it as part of the ageing process. However, when it began to affect my everyday actions, I decided it was time I did something about it and so I made an appointment with Sussex Back Pain Clinic.

The first appointment involved a thorough check of my back and on my general health and current lifestyle. What was causing the problem and why was explained in language I could understand, highlighting what I was doing wrong and what I was doing right.

With simple, non-strenuous exercises for a few minutes each day there was a noticeable improvement in the level of back pain after a couple of visits. I am now free of pain and have a check up twice a year.

Excellent hi-tech equipment provides images of my spine, showing the exact areas that need attention. Routine visits allow comparisons with previous images letting me see the improvements I have achieved.

Low back pain affects the quality of life of many people, of all ages and in all walks of life.
If left untreated it can only get worse. With the friendly, helpful and very encouraging staff at Sussex Back Pain Clinic, there is no need to suffer in silence with low back pain.”

Robert N. Taylor

We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. ACCEPT COOKIES What are cookies?